Frenemy Love

Beware the FRENEMY; enemy disguised as friend who pretends to look after your interests but really loves it when things turn sour for you. -unknown

Have you ever wondered is your friends really for you? Do they have your best interest at heart? or are they no better than your enemies waiting for you to fall. Lately I have been going through the spin cycle of a friend disguised as an enemy” aka “frenemy” for the last six years of my life.

This particular girl and I was extremely close and maybe it had a lot to do with the fact she was dating my brother, the mother of his children and I took her in as my sister. we would have sister dates and gossip about current events, the guys in my life and the drama that goes on between her and my brother. She came from a different home life and culture from us so we always try to make her feel included more importantly we made her feel like family, every birthday and holiday that past we all chipped in to make sure her special day was just as important as ours.

Life funny how one event in life can bring forth a dominion effect on other things in life. My brother died suddenly and went on to be with the lord, she on the other hand started changing up the family. She no longer wanted to come around to family events and social gatherings, our gifts, small gestures and love was no longer good enough for her and to make matters worst well, at least for me (she started bashing us especially me).

She started blasting me on social media, talking about me like I’m less than to my brother’s friends and even went as far as to block my number on her phone. Sad was not even the emotion I would use to describe how hurt and disappointed I was by her sudden switch up. It may me question our relationship and was she really a friend to me after all? or was she simply playing a part for the time being cause she was dating my brother?

I think what is sad the most is how you place so much energy on a person and they turn around and abuse you then,hurt you to the core. I always say the very ones that hurts you, run you down like a dog are the very ones that have to come back and apologize to you. My heart is not all the way closed off but I’m not so willing to make friends especially when I been hurt so many times by friends and she was not the only one. I have friends from the beginning of times that have crossed me and hurt me and each of them I mourned for in the worst way.

Love to take a chance on an individual but be smart enough to know when you being used and when they are not good for you.

Leave a Reply

